Douglas C. Smith was installed as Tidewater Builders Association’s 2017 president at a ceremony Dec. 6 at Founders Inn in Virginia Beach.  Smith is the trade association’s 60th president.

A Chesapeake native and graduate of Virginia Tech, Smith is vice president of construction and sales for Hearndon Construction, a home building and development company founded in 1975 by his father, Carroll Smith, and the late William J. Hearring.  Smith has a master’s degree from George Washington University and served in the Army National Guard until 1996.
In addition to his long-time involvement with TBA, Smith, a former teacher,  has been active with the Economic Development Association of Chesapeake, the Chesapeake Public Schools Education Foundation, the Hampton Roads Realtors Association and the Chesapeake Sports Club.
Joining Smith as 2017 TBA officers are:
Scott Gandy, president of Kempsville Building Materials, vice president;
Patrick Reynolds, president of Ashby Development L.L.C., treasurer; and
Les Ore, owner of Ore Builders L.L.C., secretary.

Erin Widener, president of The Widener Corporation, is the immediate past president.

Channing A. Pfeiffer
Chief Executive Officer
Pfeiffer serves as chief executive officer of TBA, a position he has held since 1986. He has been with TBA since 1981. Prior to joining TBA, he served as director of the National Association of Home Builders’ Multi-Housing Division and as national coordinator for the National Association of Home Builders’ apprenticeship training programs. He has his master’s degree in management from the University of Virginia and a bachelor of arts degree from Randolph-Macon College. He is a member of the American Society of Association Executives, the Home Builders Association of Virginia Executive Officers Council, and the National Association of Home Builders Executive Officers Council.  In 2014, he received the Seldon Hale Career Achievement Award, the highest honor NAHB bestows on an executive officer. He is a past board member and volunteer of the year of the Hampton Roads YMCA and was vice chairman of the Tidewater Boys Scout Council.